A Few Weeks In

Ever since I had children, I’ve struggled with weight. I’m tall. I have super broad shoulders, and a chubby gut.

I heard about this crazy diet called Paleo, stuck with it for a while. Lost tons of weight. I felt so good about myself.

Fell off the Paleo wagon.

Got cancer. Gave myself free range to eat whatever the hell I wanted.

Went on steroids because of the camera.

Got really fat. Like, as fat as I was when I was going to the hospital to have my youngest.

Fat.

Unhappy.

In the middle of June, I decided that trying to go to the afternoon WOD class at the gym just wasn’t going to work. I made the decision that my health was worth more than that, (cancer has a way of doing that to you), and have started going to the 9am class.

I’ve gone three times a week for about a month and a half. My weight has not yet started falling off, but you know what? I have muscles in my arms. Real live muscles. I can squat further, lift more, and have made new friends.

I decided last week that I needed to get back on the Paleo wagon. We got a big project done and out of the way, and I was able to go to the store and stock up on healthy, beautiful, Paleo approved foods.

I hope you’ll stick with me as I take this journey.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

